Seven Wonders of the World (Pictures)


1.     The Great Wall of China in northern China
The Great Wall of China is made of stone, brick, tamped earth, wood, and other materials, and built along an east-to-west line across northern borders of China.

2.     Petra in Jordan
Petra – meaning stone; Petra the world wonder, is a historical, archaeological  and greatest tourist city in Jordanian. It is a vast, unique city, carved into the sheer rock face by the Nabataeans, an industrious Arab people who settled here more than 2000 years ago, turning it into an important junction for the silk, spice and other trade routes that linked China, India and southern Arabia with Egypt, Syria, Greece and Rome.

3.     The Statue of Christ Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro
Rio de Janeiro, Christ the Redeemer statue located at the top of Corcovado Mountain in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. In 2007 was elected one of the new Seven Wonders of the World. The statue is 38 meters high and is located 709 meters above the sea level.

4.     Machu Picchu in Peru
Machu Picchu is a pre-Columbian 15th-century Inca site located 2,430 metres (7,970 ft) above sea level. Machu Picchu is located in the Cusco Region of Peru, South America. It is situated on a mountain ridge above the Urubamba Valley in Peru, which is 80 kilometres (50 mi) northwest of Cusco and through which the Urubamba River flows and it is perhaps the most familiar icon of the Inca World.

5.     Chichen Itza in Mexico
Chichen Itza is large Maya city in Maxico. it is a UNESCO world heritage site and has been since 1988. It is located on the Yucatan Penisula, Maxico, in the heart of Maya civilization.

6.     The Colosseum in Rome
The Flavius amphitheatre is the biggest and most imposing in the Roman world, but is also the most famous monument in Rome, Italy and is known as the “Colosseum” or “Coliseum”.

7.     Taj Mahal
“Taj Mahal ” means ” Crown Palace”. The Taj Mahal is a white marble mausoleum located in Agra, India. It was built by Mughal emperor Shah Jahan in memory of his wife Mumtaz Mahal. The Taj Mahal is widely recognized as “the jewel of Muslim art in India. Taj Mahal is regarded by many as the finest example of Mughal architecture, a style that combines elements from Persian, Ottoman Turkish and Indian architectural styles. In 1983, the Taj Mahal became a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The construction began around 1632 and was completed around 1653, employing thousands of artisans and craftsmen. Taj Mahal is regarded as one of the Seven Wonders of the World.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s